Do you know a Swiss company pushing the boundaries of digital innovation? Is there a digitally mature company that deserves global recognition for its outstanding achievements? Help us find this year’s most deserving winners and nominate until 23 June. 

The Digital Economy Award honours and celebrates the most digitally mature companies in Switzerland and the most innovative digital projects. The awards have been highly influential in the future development of awarded organisations.

Simon Dössegger is CEO of Modum, the proud winners of the 2018 Digital Innovation of the Year Award. Simon explains what the significance of the award win meant for Modum and its employees.

The Jury

In total, more than 40 jurors will examine the ideas, projects and companies at the Digital Economy Award. In each category,  specialists are involved in the analysis and evaluation of the entries. A jury president chairs the group of experts for each category. Lukas Bär, Jury President of Digital Innovation is looking forward to nominations in his category.

Understanding the award categories

Our jury of prominent experts from the digital economy will judge ICT projects, disruptive ideas, IT competence, and digital maturity in the five following categories.

The Next Global Hot Thing

This category is all about the near-global future. What are the most groundbreaking, disruptive projects and startups still in their formative stages? The most promising digital approaches are sought out in a year-round scouting process.

The Highest Digital Quality

Companies compete for the swissICT certificate in one or more of the six subject areas. The subject areas of the certificates are: data, innovation management, customer experience, corporate and leadership culture, process automation, ICT. The subject group representatives determine who will be awarded the corresponding certificate. The best candidates are then nominated for the award. 

The Digital Innovation of the year

Honours the most innovative digital project in Switzerland. Project managers from both ICT providers and users send their best projects and products of the year into the race for the title.

The Digital Excellence Award

The jury feels the digital pulse of companies in the categories “SME,” “Large Enterprise,” and “Gov & NPO.” It honours companies and organisations that have made particular digital maturity progress and therefore significantly increased their competitiveness.

NextGen Hero

This award category honours personalities under 25 years of age. They represent the potential of the young generation to actively shape the digital future of Switzerland. We asked David Yenicelik, Co-Founder of SkillLab and one of the two NextGen Hero award winners at The Digital Economy Award 2020, how his company is continuing to innovate in the current landscape?

The submission period will start slightly later for NextGen Hero and commence 5 May 2021 and run until 30 July. Find out more here.

The Scouting Partner

In the category The Next Global Hot Thing, an application isn’t possible. Instead, seven scouting partners put forward their best candidates into the race. Companies and start-ups that participate in a programme, or offer provided by the scouting partners have a chance to win at the awards. The scouting partners are from the following organisations:

CV Labs, ETH Zurich – Entrepreneurship, Fachhochschule Graubünden, Impact Hub Zurich, The Swiss ICT Investor Club, Trust Square and Universität St. Gallen – Startup@HSG.

The Award Gala Night will take place at the Hallenstadion in Zurich on 11 November 2021, as the closing event of the Swiss Digital Day.

Sign up for the DEA Application Briefing

In this webinar on 5 May 2021, you will get an entry guide if you are interested in submitting a project for the Digital Economy Award. You will hear essential information per category, explained compactly by Christian Hunziker, managing director of swissICT and head of the jury process at the Digital Economy Award.

We very much look forward to your participation. Visit the Digital Economy Award website where you will find the latest news, newsletter sign up and awards information.